With a Little Help From My Friends

I want to begin by apologizing for the recent lack of posts. I don’t have much by way of an excuse beyond the fact that I didn’t really feel as if I had much to say. The holidays have been a lot harder for me this year than I thought they’d be. I’ve found it very, very easy to feel sorry for myself this year. It’s occurred to me that everything about my life as I knew it a year and a half ago is, for the most part, well and truly gone. I know that that’s how life is supposed to be. As we grow up and become adults, the comforts that we so long clung to are going to be replaced with traditions of our own, etc. I realize that if things stay as they always have been, then I don’t have the chance to make any progress in myself. I just didn’t expect all of these changes to happen at once. To a degree I’ve even attempted to hold on to some of the traditions that I took so much advantage of when I was younger, but it’s just not the same when I’m doing them alone.

I was always so fulfilled with having my immediate family around, I never really took the time for it to occur to me just how little family I actually have beyond my mom, my dad, and my younger brother. When this fact has occured to me, it’s never been something that has really bothered me until recently. I’m not saying that I absolutely don’t have any family, I have an aunt and uncle that I love very much in Louisiana and their respective husbands, kids, etc. I think a lot of the problem stems from the fact that (while my dad still lives in the same town as me, he lives with his girlfriend, and they’re trying to put together a life as a couple) I am the last of my family left in Douglas.

I absolutely know that I still have my mother. She’s always just a phone call away should I need her. I’ve just felt lonely lately, I suppose. However, some other people who are very important to me have constantly reminded me something. I think there are situations wherein your friends can become your family, in a way. I know that my friends have rallied around me in the past few months. They’ve constantly reminded me that I’m not alone, and people love me besides my poor mama. :)

I don’t know where I would be without my friends. They are like a large, strange, extensive family that I’ve had the privilege of choosing myself. I have such an incredibly amazing support system when I’m not too busy wallowing in self-pity to see it.

Well, this seems more like a ramble than anything of actual use to anyone, but this is where I am at present. I fully intend to thrill you with tales of whimsy later in the week. Huzzah.

One thought on “With a Little Help From My Friends

Leave a Reply

